Windows 10 Home
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4790
CPU: 3.60GHz
System: 64-Bit Operating System
Re: Moho Pro 12 - Masking Bug
Posted: Mon Aug 29, 2016 12:31 am
by synthsin75
Thank you for posting this. I've seen this happen for two other users and I've been trying to collect more data points before reporting it. The problem seems to be somewhere in the transform layer tool. I can successfully select your mountain layers if I select the BG layer, select the select points tool, and then select the mountain layer. Seems there can be an issue with selecting layers when the transform layer tool is active, but switching tools first bypasses this.
This has nothing to do with masking, btw.
Re: Moho Pro 12 - Masking Bug
Posted: Mon Aug 29, 2016 12:35 am
by mtbuck24
Oh sweet! Good to know! Thanks Synthsin75
Re: Moho Pro 12 - Masking Bug
Posted: Mon Aug 29, 2016 7:48 pm
by Lost Marble
Thanks for posting the file. I found and fixed the problem for the next update.
It turns out it's not really about masking. Something funny happened to this file: there's a keyframe at something like frame -900000. We've seen this before and I'm not sure what causes it. This in itself is not exactly a problem. The problem is when the Transform Layer tool tries to draw the path of that layer it's drawing a path that is over 900000 frames long. This makes things really slow, so slow that the program appears to have crashed.
The fix is to ignore drawing the path before frame 0. If you don't mind editing Lua files, you can fix it yourself without waiting for the update. Open the file lm_transform_layer.lua and look for these lines:
if (interp:IsAdditiveCycle()) then
endFrame = moho.document:EndFrame() + totalTimingOffset
end
if (endFrame > startFrame) then
local g = view:Graphics()
local m = LM.Matrix:new_local()
and add the three new lines shown below (starting with if (startFrame < 0) then):
if (interp:IsAdditiveCycle()) then
endFrame = moho.document:EndFrame() + totalTimingOffset
end
if (startFrame < 0) then
startFrame = 0
end
if (endFrame > startFrame) then
local g = view:Graphics()
local m = LM.Matrix:new_local()
If you don't want to mess with Lua scripts, then wait for the update that will fix it. Or, if you turn off the "Show path" option for the Transform Layer tool, you'll also avoid the problem.
Re: Moho Pro 12 - Masking Bug
Posted: Mon Aug 29, 2016 7:56 pm
by synthsin75
You beat me to reporting it, Mike. This should also fix the other two I've seen. The first one was solved by deleting the later translation keyframes, but that wasn't a good solution. Nice tip about the "show path" checkbox.
Re: Moho Pro 12 - Masking Bug
Posted: Tue Aug 30, 2016 2:01 pm
by mtbuck24
Oh sweet! Thanks so much Mike and Synthsin again that helps a ton! Will go through the Lua script and add in the code to fix it. Thanks again!
Re: Moho Pro 12 - Masking Bug
Posted: Tue Aug 30, 2016 2:30 pm
by mtbuck24
So it seems I have something wonky with my permissions when trying to save. I am on a PC and using my administrator account but for some reason am getting this error
Re: Moho Pro 12 - Masking Bug
Posted: Tue Aug 30, 2016 2:44 pm
by mtbuck24
Seems to be a Windows 10 thing. I did a right click > properties > security and have read/ write/ but no special permissions. Couldn't figure out how to gain special permissions from my admin account
Re: Moho Pro 12 - Masking Bug
Posted: Tue Aug 30, 2016 5:22 pm
by synthsin75
It's better to copy the tool to the custom content folder and make the changes there. That way you don't need to mess with permissions. Any duplicate tool in your custom folder overrides any stock tool.
Re: Moho Pro 12 - Masking Bug
Posted: Tue Aug 30, 2016 9:43 pm
by mtbuck24
synthsin75 wrote:It's better to copy the tool to the custom content folder and make the changes there. That way you don't need to mess with permissions. Any duplicate tool in your custom folder overrides any stock tool.
OOOOH good to know! thanks so much for your help once again!