Page 1 of 1
Align closed shapes by X or Y
Posted: Mon Jul 02, 2007 1:41 am
by Genete
Hi!
I'm proud to present you a pair of handy scripts that align selected shapes by its gravity center X or Y values.
The file:
http://www.darthfurby.com/genete/Scripting/align.zip
Installation:
Unzip the file and drop the content to the folder:
/home/UserName/AnimeStudio/scripts/tools
(or what other folder where you have installed AS.)
AND BE SURE that you modify the _tool_list.txt file ADDING those two lines at the Draw section. (You can add them to the "Other" section if you want or other different)
Code: Select all
button ge_alignx ...
button ge_aligny ...
Replace the tree dots with a letter in capitals if you want to use them by a hot key. But I think ALL the keys are already used by other tools...
To select multiple shapes at the same time you MUST use fazek's select points tools (again fazek's wonderful tools)
Usage:
Select more than one shape at the same time and press the corresponding button.
The shapes will be aligned to the first more deep shape in the layer. So if you want to align TO an specific shape you have to be sure to send it below all the other shapes to be aligned.
For the moment it only work for filled shapes. I have to modify them to be used by only outline shapes.
If a non filled shape is selected it returns an error.
Hope you find these tools useful. And please test them and tell me if you find any bug.
-G
Posted: Mon Jul 02, 2007 3:07 am
by heyvern
Yeeehaaaa!
About time someone created this script!
-vern
Posted: Mon Jul 02, 2007 3:50 am
by Víctor Paredes
excellent. thanks genete!
ps. i didn't know that fazek's select points tool could select shapes too. and several shapes.
for what another things its useful to select several shapes?
at the moment, i can't paint several shapes in one time. i have selected several shapes and it just paint one of them.
Posted: Mon Jul 02, 2007 8:59 am
by Genete
heyvern wrote:Yeeehaaaa!
About time someone created this script!
-vern
Who, where, when, how....?

I haven't found it yet. ... Please let me know to not duplicate efforts!!
selgin wrote:ps. i didn't know that fazek's select points tool could select shapes too. and several shapes.
for what another things its useful to select several shapes?
at the moment, i can't paint several shapes in one time. i have selected several shapes and it just paint one of them.
That's something I've asked me since I installed fazek tools. It should be something that hi prepared when modify the others tools...
I'm glad you like them.
Do you think I should add the non filled shapes also? And what about to align by its boundaries?
-G
Posted: Mon Jul 02, 2007 12:05 pm
by heyvern
There is no script like this. It is a figure of speech.
I meant it time that someone DID create this NOW.
-vern
Posted: Mon Jul 02, 2007 1:32 pm
by Víctor Paredes
Genete wrote:Do you think I should add the non filled shapes also? And what about to align by its boundaries?
-G
absolutely.
is there a way to align each line, closed or not? i think it would be a great improvement if it could to align everything selected.
Posted: Mon Jul 02, 2007 1:50 pm
by Genete
heyvern wrote:
There is no script like this. It is a figure of speech.
I meant it time that someone DID create this NOW.
-vern
Aaah I got it!
About time! === At last!
In spanish: Por fin!
Haha Thanks Vern. Annotate one more in your English lessons...
selgin wrote:is there a way to align each line, closed or not? i think it would be a great improvement if it could to align everything selected.
Yes it is. Only the script have to tweak a little more when the shape is not closed.
But does it makes sense to align the shapes by its rights /lefts /tops /bottoms side points ? It would not be very difficult. It is only other function to the one that calculates the displacement. But the problem is that there would be a lot of buttons, not?
It could be cool that the tool palette change when select a main tool or type of layer. I mean, not only make available or not some buttons, even hide or show them... Like Gimp does when you select a main tool. The palette options change dynamically to offer the proper ones to the current selected tool.
For instance the align buttons should be shown only when the select points tool is selected.
Now the palette is getting so large...
-G
Posted: Sun Aug 19, 2007 10:46 am
by Genete
Please reload the zip file of the initial post.
I have updated the lua files. Now the buttons are not enabled if not possible align the shapes (it is not a vector layer and there are not enough shapes selected)
-G
Posted: Sun Aug 19, 2007 12:18 pm
by JimmyC
I can't get the Align X/Y scripts to work at all. I have the lua files in the tools folder, and I added the buttons to the list. The buttons appear, but are always greyed out, not matter how many filled shapes I select (using Fazek's Select Points/Bones tool)
I have 3 shapes, filled with different colours, one square and two circles, all at different positions on the X and Y axis. I select using Fazek's tool, but the buttins remain greyed out.
It is probably something I am doing

What am I doing wrong??
Thanks
Posted: Sun Aug 19, 2007 12:31 pm
by Genete
I've just reloaded the current link to align.zip file, extracted the files to a folder, copy and paste to scripts/tools folder (saying yes to replace the same files on my folder) and start again Anime Studio.
They work perfectly.
I don't have idea what's happening with your copy. Please try to reload it again.
I have no hotkey assigned to the buttons tool.
Did you made the followings entries into the _tool_list.txt file?:
Code: Select all
button ge_alignx ...
button ge_aligny ...
This is my _tool_list.txt file. Maybe it helps:
Code: Select all
group Draw
color 204 220 232 255
tool fa_select_points G
tool fa_translate_points T
tool fa_scale_points S
tool fa_rotate_points R
tool fa_add_point A
tool lm_delete_edge D
tool fa_curvature C
tool fa_magnet X
tool fa_freehand F
tool lm_rectangle E
tool lm_oval L
tool lm_arrow ...
tool lm_shear_points_x ...
tool lm_shear_points_y ...
tool lm_perspective_points_h ...
tool lm_perspective_points_v ...
tool lm_bend_points_h ...
tool lm_bend_points_v ...
tool lm_noise N
tool fa_replace_line ...
tool fa_polygon ...
tool cc_sf_MegaMagnet ...
button ge_alignx ...
button ge_aligny ...
button lm_smooth M
button lm_peak P
button lm_flip_points_h ...
button lm_flip_points_v ...
group Fill
color 232 220 204 255
tool lm_select_shape Q
tool fa_create_shape U
tool lm_paint_bucket ...
tool lm_delete_shape ...
tool lm_line_width W
tool lm_hide_edge H
button lm_lower_shape ...
button lm_raise_shape ...
group Bone
color 204 220 232 255
tool lm_select_bone B
tool lm_translate_bone T
tool lm_scale_bone S
tool lm_rotate_bone R
tool lm_add_bone A
tool lm_reparent_bone P
tool lm_bone_strength ...
tool lm_manipulate_bones Z
tool lm_bind_layer ...
tool fa_bind_points I
tool lm_offset_bone ...
button ge_uname_bones U
group Layer
color 232 220 204 255
tool lm_translate_layer 1
tool lm_scale_layer 2
tool lm_rotate_layer 3
tool lm_set_origin 0
tool lm_rotate_layer_x ...
tool lm_rotate_layer_y ...
tool lm_shear_layer_x ...
tool lm_shear_layer_y ...
button lm_flip_layer_h ...
button lm_flip_layer_v ...
tool lm_switch_layer ...
tool lm_particle_layer ...
group Camera
color 233 201 201 255
tool lm_track_camera 4
tool lm_zoom_camera 5
tool lm_roll_camera 6
tool lm_pantilt_camera 7
group Workspace
color 212 238 212 255
tool lm_pan_workspace ...
tool lm_zoom_workspace ...
tool lm_rotate_workspace 8
tool lm_orbit_workspace 9
group Other
button DR_select_parent_layer J
tool st_key_none ...
tool lm_translate_points Y
button ge_select_released_points ...
button ge_select_flexibound_points ...
button ge_select_bound_points ...
Posted: Sun Aug 19, 2007 1:01 pm
by Genete
Here a sample usage:
http://www.darthfurby.com/genete/Scripting/align.htm (flash screen capture made with wink)
I have no idea what's happening to your version, JimmyC.
-G
Posted: Sun Aug 19, 2007 2:11 pm
by JimmyC
Thanks for taking the trouble G. The Wink file shows it all
I see now what Iwas doing wrong. I was selecting the shapes by drawing a lassoo around them, I now see that they have to be selected individually. Doh! I thought I had to hold down the Shift key too in Fazek's tool, but that is not necessary.
Works fine now. Thank you very much.