Scrub Timeline by Shortcut and Mouse Movement over Canvas
Moderators: Víctor Paredes, Belgarath, slowtiger
Scrub Timeline by Shortcut and Mouse Movement over Canvas
Hey everyone, imagine You can hold a hotkey and move the mouse left/right in order to scrub the timeline. No need to move to the timeline. I find this a great way to tweak animations, where I can focus on the shapes and keep my cursor over the drawing canvas.
Blender and Maya have that feature, and also Clip Studio Paint. Once You have tried it You won't go back.
It would be nice if Moho gave us the possibility to map a hotkey for scrubbing the timeline, too.
Blender and Maya have that feature, and also Clip Studio Paint. Once You have tried it You won't go back.
It would be nice if Moho gave us the possibility to map a hotkey for scrubbing the timeline, too.
- synthsin75
- Posts: 10253
- Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 11:20 pm
- Location: Oklahoma
- Contact:
Re: Scrub Timeline by Shortcut and Mouse Movement over Canvas
I wrote a script to do that a long time ago, but haven't used it much since. I'll look for it later today.
- Wes
Donations: https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/synthsin75 (Thx, everyone.)
https://www.youtube.com/user/synthsin75
Scripting reference: https://mohoscripting.com/
Donations: https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/synthsin75 (Thx, everyone.)
https://www.youtube.com/user/synthsin75
Scripting reference: https://mohoscripting.com/
Re: Scrub Timeline by Shortcut and Mouse Movement over Canvas
Oh, that sounds nicesynthsin75 wrote: ↑Sat Jul 31, 2021 6:56 pm I wrote a script to do that a long time ago, but haven't used it much since. I'll look for it later today.

- synthsin75
- Posts: 10253
- Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 11:20 pm
- Location: Oklahoma
- Contact:
Re: Scrub Timeline by Shortcut and Mouse Movement over Canvas
Found the script and pared it down to timeline scrubbing: https://www.dropbox.com/s/gntr2oj7jsyxs ... e.zip?dl=0
If anyone is interested in me adding this functionality to Switch Icons (so you don't have to reach as far from the icons to scrub the timeline), I can see about doing that when I find the time.
I had hoped that it would work well with assigning a shortcut and using while you hold the shortcut, returning to the last tool when you release, but tools take a pretty heavy hit to performance when you use them like that. So you'll want to switch to this tool to use it. Probably not ideal.
EDIT: This lag is actually caused by a longstanding bug on Windows. I wrote a fix for it long ago: https://www.lostmarble.com/forum/viewto ... 81#p168081
With the fix, it works great with holding the shortcut key to temporarily select it.
If anyone is interested in me adding this functionality to Switch Icons (so you don't have to reach as far from the icons to scrub the timeline), I can see about doing that when I find the time.
I had hoped that it would work well with assigning a shortcut and using while you hold the shortcut, returning to the last tool when you release, but tools take a pretty heavy hit to performance when you use them like that. So you'll want to switch to this tool to use it. Probably not ideal.
EDIT: This lag is actually caused by a longstanding bug on Windows. I wrote a fix for it long ago: https://www.lostmarble.com/forum/viewto ... 81#p168081
With the fix, it works great with holding the shortcut key to temporarily select it.
- Wes
Donations: https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/synthsin75 (Thx, everyone.)
https://www.youtube.com/user/synthsin75
Scripting reference: https://mohoscripting.com/
Donations: https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/synthsin75 (Thx, everyone.)
https://www.youtube.com/user/synthsin75
Scripting reference: https://mohoscripting.com/
Re: Scrub Timeline by Shortcut and Mouse Movement over Canvas
Wes, thanks so much. Your script works brilliantly.
Am I correct to assume that these (below) have something to do with the relation mouse movement <> playhead travel?
Syn_ScrubWorkspace.speed = 5
Syn_ScrubWorkspace.max = 50
What values would I chose for slower increments? I already tweaked to lower values but didn't notice a difference.
Cheers, Marin
Am I correct to assume that these (below) have something to do with the relation mouse movement <> playhead travel?
Syn_ScrubWorkspace.speed = 5
Syn_ScrubWorkspace.max = 50
What values would I chose for slower increments? I already tweaked to lower values but didn't notice a difference.
Cheers, Marin
- synthsin75
- Posts: 10253
- Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 11:20 pm
- Location: Oklahoma
- Contact:
Re: Scrub Timeline by Shortcut and Mouse Movement over Canvas
Changing those values in the script won't do much. That's why it has a "Speed" setting in the tool's option bar.
The first value is just an initial default, and the second one is just the maximum that can be set in the "Speed" option box.
The first value is just an initial default, and the second one is just the maximum that can be set in the "Speed" option box.
- Wes
Donations: https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/synthsin75 (Thx, everyone.)
https://www.youtube.com/user/synthsin75
Scripting reference: https://mohoscripting.com/
Donations: https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/synthsin75 (Thx, everyone.)
https://www.youtube.com/user/synthsin75
Scripting reference: https://mohoscripting.com/
Re: Scrub Timeline by Shortcut and Mouse Movement over Canvas
This is excellent, very handy even when used with long-press (and lag*).
One micro adjustment I made was to allow the speed to be a float and drop to 0.1 minimum - to allow slow motion scrubbing.
*(EDIT) - Lag removed after updating Key Repeat Delay (as discussed in other thread).
One micro adjustment I made was to allow the speed to be a float and drop to 0.1 minimum - to allow slow motion scrubbing.
*(EDIT) - Lag removed after updating Key Repeat Delay (as discussed in other thread).
Last edited by SimplSam on Sun Aug 01, 2021 7:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Moho 14.3 » Win 11 Pro 64GB » NVIDIA GTX 1080ti 11GB
Moho 14.3 » Mac mini 2012 8GB » macOS 10.15 Catalina
Tube: SimplSam
Sam
Moho 14.3 » Mac mini 2012 8GB » macOS 10.15 Catalina
Tube: SimplSam
Sam
- synthsin75
- Posts: 10253
- Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 11:20 pm
- Location: Oklahoma
- Contact:
Re: Scrub Timeline by Shortcut and Mouse Movement over Canvas
If that's desired, I can change that in the official release.
EDIT: Just updated with those changes.
- Wes
Donations: https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/synthsin75 (Thx, everyone.)
https://www.youtube.com/user/synthsin75
Scripting reference: https://mohoscripting.com/
Donations: https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/synthsin75 (Thx, everyone.)
https://www.youtube.com/user/synthsin75
Scripting reference: https://mohoscripting.com/
- synthsin75
- Posts: 10253
- Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 11:20 pm
- Location: Oklahoma
- Contact:
Re: Scrub Timeline by Shortcut and Mouse Movement over Canvas
New version that allows you to set the scrubbing interval:
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/s/gnt ... e.zip?dl=0
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/s/gnt ... e.zip?dl=0
- Wes
Donations: https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/synthsin75 (Thx, everyone.)
https://www.youtube.com/user/synthsin75
Scripting reference: https://mohoscripting.com/
Donations: https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/synthsin75 (Thx, everyone.)
https://www.youtube.com/user/synthsin75
Scripting reference: https://mohoscripting.com/