Let us tween points on FBF layers

Discuss ideas for new features with other users. To submit feature requests to Smith Micro, please visit support.smithmicro.com

Moderators: Víctor Paredes, Belgarath, slowtiger

User avatar
JoelMayer
Posts: 394
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2009 8:29 pm

Let us tween points on FBF layers

Post by JoelMayer »

I kinda don't really understand, why fbf layers don't let you animate points in addition to switching frames. That would be like biggest benefit of using them in a software like Moho: to inbetween stuff by shoving points from one key to the next using the onion skin... i think it was somehow different in version 13.5 but i might be mistaken. Anyways it would be great if we could animate them.
User avatar
Greenlaw
Posts: 10382
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 5:45 pm
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: Let us tween points on FBF layers

Post by Greenlaw »

To tween FBF frames you need to convert the FBF layer to a Switch layer. To do this, open the Layer Settings window and uncheck Frame By Frame Drawing. You can switch back and forth between the modes, and the point animation and layer transform keyframes set in Switch mode will remain even in FBF mode.

BTW, I've requested that we get an R-click layer menu to convert the layer modes because it will be quicker and more obvious than navigating to the Layer Settings window's Switch page.

At first, I questioned the wisdom of limiting point animation access to the Switch layer mode, but I've been using Moho in FBF mode A LOT these past couple of months, and I can see how having point animation in FBF mode can actually mess up my current workflow. I'll explain in further detail in an upcoming tutorial.
User avatar
JoelMayer
Posts: 394
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2009 8:29 pm

Re: Let us tween points on FBF layers

Post by JoelMayer »

Yes i know that you can switch back and forth but it seems anything but efficient to me.
Daxel
Posts: 1081
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2019 8:34 pm

Re: Let us tween points on FBF layers

Post by Daxel »

I have to admit I have only used FBF 4 or 5 times (all in the past, when you could still interpolate in FBF), but I was very dissapointed when I saw I couldn't do it in Moho 14. I totally agree with JoelMayer, and in the past my experience was that the combination of FBF with interpolation was amazing. Basically, every time I used FBF I ended drawing only 20-30% of the frames and interpolating the rest with just a couple of minutes of magnet tool and the end result was perfect.

However, I am very curious to know the cons you see in having interpolation, Greenlaw. Maybe I can understand the decisission better and hopefully there is a way to have interpolation back without causing such problem/s. There has to be a way.
User avatar
hayasidist
Posts: 3829
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 8:12 pm
Location: Kent, England

Re: Let us tween points on FBF layers

Post by hayasidist »

Greenlaw wrote: Wed Jun 19, 2024 1:36 am BTW, I've requested that we get an R-click layer menu to convert the layer modes because it will be quicker and more obvious than navigating to the Layer Settings window's Switch page.
in the meantime ... https://mohoscripts.com/script/HS_ToggleFBF
Last edited by hayasidist on Mon Jul 01, 2024 9:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Panha
Posts: 202
Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2023 3:59 pm

Re: Let us tween points on FBF layers

Post by Panha »

I think in Moho 13.5 and older version, we could do that. However, in Moho 14,we can still do that by switching back and forth in the "layer setting" window.
Sreng Pagna, animator and author
User avatar
Greenlaw
Posts: 10382
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 5:45 pm
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: Let us tween points on FBF layers

Post by Greenlaw »

hayasidist wrote: Wed Jun 19, 2024 10:10 am in the meantime ... https://mohoscripts.com/script/HS_ToggleFBF
Ha ha! Thank you, Paul...downloading now, and will try it this morning. :D
User avatar
Greenlaw
Posts: 10382
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 5:45 pm
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: Let us tween points on FBF layers

Post by Greenlaw »

Yes! It works perfectly, Paul! I will definitely be using it, and I may even assign a precious hotkey to it. :D

Thanks again for your expertise and generosity!
Daxel
Posts: 1081
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2019 8:34 pm

Re: Let us tween points on FBF layers

Post by Daxel »

hayasidist wrote: Wed Jun 19, 2024 10:10 am
in the meantime ... https://mohoscripts.com/script/HS_ToggleFBF
Oh that's nice thank you! I'll save it for the next time I have to do FBF.
User avatar
JoelMayer
Posts: 394
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2009 8:29 pm

Re: Let us tween points on FBF layers

Post by JoelMayer »

To update it here too:

The most ideal situation for me would be if we could just see the point animation and frame changing at a glance. I don't mind not having the separate layers visible in the layer window but if we had basically the fbf switch and then the point channels underneath (they correspond to the different, active children of the fbf layer) that would be so SO much of a workflow improvement and would reduce layers needed significantly for a lot of cases...

Image
User avatar
hayasidist
Posts: 3829
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 8:12 pm
Location: Kent, England

Re: Let us tween points on FBF layers

Post by hayasidist »

can be done with a layerscript -- embed this in the switch layer

Code: Select all

function LayerScript(moho)
	local layer = moho:LayerAsSwitch(moho.layer)
	if layer:IsFBFLayer() then
		local drawLayer = moho.drawingLayer
		local i
		for i = 0, layer:CountLayers()-1 do
			layer:Layer(i):SetShownOnTimeline(layer:Layer(i)== drawLayer)
		end
	end
end
If I get time over the summer, I'll add this to the fbf toggle and have it auto install itself. In the meantime...
User avatar
JoelMayer
Posts: 394
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2009 8:29 pm

Re: Let us tween points on FBF layers

Post by JoelMayer »

hayasidist wrote: Tue Jul 09, 2024 9:43 pm can be done with a layerscript -- embed this in the switch layer

Code: Select all

function LayerScript(moho)
	local layer = moho:LayerAsSwitch(moho.layer)
	if layer:IsFBFLayer() then
		local drawLayer = moho.drawingLayer
		local i
		for i = 0, layer:CountLayers()-1 do
			layer:Layer(i):SetShownOnTimeline(layer:Layer(i)== drawLayer)
		end
	end
end
If I get time over the summer, I'll add this to the fbf toggle and have it auto install itself. In the meantime...
Thank you hayasidist, really appreciate all your effort :) If i appear to be snarky against scripts or anything that is not my intention, i appreciate all the hard work you and others do basically for free greatly. I just think there are certain things that should really be integrated to the software from the get go for a unified user experience. Nonetheless, your script is great and looking forward to any additions ^^
User avatar
lucasfranca
Posts: 180
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2017 11:47 pm

Re: Let us tween points on FBF layers

Post by lucasfranca »

I don't know if I'm missing something here, but we can enable FBF interpolation in the switch options, right? If one frame and another have the same number of points (duplicating it) you can change the next one and we will have an interval. Is this about that or am I way off topic?
An old guy [since 1983] who was raised in front of the TV.
Passionate about animation, after getting old, he decides to make it his hobby.

I share tutorials, reviews, tips and tricks from this vast world of animation on my channel.

https://youtube.com/animai2D
User avatar
JoelMayer
Posts: 394
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2009 8:29 pm

Re: Let us tween points on FBF layers

Post by JoelMayer »

lucasfranca wrote: Tue Jul 09, 2024 10:12 pm I don't know if I'm missing something here, but we can enable FBF interpolation in the switch options, right? If one frame and another have the same number of points (duplicating it) you can change the next one and we will have an interval. Is this about that or am I way off topic?
No you are right it's really mainly about UI. In 13.5 you were able to animate points on FBF layers as well, keeping you from having to shuffle through 10'000 switch layers in the layer view, since it's just simply nicer to use the FBF layer especially for any sort of traditional workflow. That option was removed and you obviously can still switch back and forth between FBF and Switch but it's in my and others opinion just an additional, jarring step that eats up unnecessary time. The problem isn't functionality, as so often with Moho, it's usability.
User avatar
JoelMayer
Posts: 394
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2009 8:29 pm

Re: Let us tween points on FBF layers

Post by JoelMayer »

Aight, i will admit, i've been a TINY bit silly about the whole thing :D

I realized i can pretty much do animation on switch layers with bones and meshes and whatnot and still revert them back to a fbf layer for easier overview. I added a shortcut to hayasidist's script and can now just switch quite easily.

So, as an alternative, pay him whatever he asks for for his script and maybe just add a button somewhere to just as easily switch between switch layers and fbf layers than it is with his tool atm. But in any case, this way it's not half bad so i guess this feature request has dropped down in my priority list somewhat :oops:
Post Reply